2020 Tony Awards® Nominations

Nominations in 25 competitive categories for the American Theatre Wing’s 74th Annual Antoinette Perry “Tony” Awards® were announced today by Tony Award winner James Monroe Iglehart on the official Tony Awards YouTube channel (https://www.TonyAwards.com/Announcement2020). The nominees were selected by an independent committee of 41 theatre professionals appointed by the Tony Awards Administration Committee. The 2020 Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.  (The list of nominations follows.)

Legitimate theatrical productions that opened in any of the 41 eligible Broadway theatres during the abbreviated 2019-2020 season and met all eligibility requirements were considered for Tony nominations. The 2019/2020 eligibility season began April 26, 2019 and ended February 19, 2020. The Tony Awards will be voted in 25 competitive categories by 784 designated Tony voters within the theatre community.

The 2019-2020 Tony Award Nominating Committee consists of : Emily Altman, Bob Alwine, Becky Ann Baker, Pun Bandhu, Milly Barranger, Suzy Benzinger, Brenda Braxton, Christopher Burney, Dawn Chiang, Eisa Davis, Kristoffer Diaz, Jerry Dixon, Judith Dolan, Jill BC Du Boff, John Erman, Peter Jay Fernandez,  Kamilah Forbes, Scott Frankel, Maija Garcia, Mason Granger, Ann Harada,  JoAnn Hunter, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Michael Kantor, Nina Lannan, Martyna Majok, John Mauceri, Jonathan McCrory, Sheila Nevins, Peter Parnell, Benj Pasek, Neil Patel,  Rosalba Rolón, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Don Scardino, Kimberly Senior, Natasha Sinha,  Randy Skinner, Niegel Smith, Michael Stotts and Michael Benjamin Washington.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Awards are bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

The 2020 American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Thomas Schumacher is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theater Wing, David Henry Hwang is Chairman and Heather A. Hitchens is President.

Sponsors for The Tony Awards include: Carnegie Mellon University – the first-ever, exclusive higher education partner; City National – official bank of the Tony Awards and presenting sponsor of the Creative Arts Awards; MAC Cosmetics – official makeup partner; People/EW – official magazine partner; Playbill;  Sofitel New York – the official hotel of the Tony Awards; Rainbow Room – official partner of the Tony Nominee Luncheon; Passion Roses – the official rose of the Tony Awards; and United Airlines – the official airline of the Tony Awards for over 20 years.