Best New American Play

Heidi Schreck, What the Constitution Means to Me (New York Theatre Workshop)


Marcus Gardley, The House That Will Not Stand (New York Theatre Workshop)

Madeleine George, Hurricane Diane (New York Theatre Workshop)

Suzan-Lori Parks, White Noise (The Public Theater)


Jo Bonney, Sustained Excellence in Directing

Leigh Silverman, Sustained Excellence in Directing

Stevie Walker Webb, Ain’t No Mo’ (The Public Theater)


Mia Barron, Hurricane Diane (New York Theatre Workshop)

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Sustained Excellence in Performance

Cherise Boothe, Fabulation, or the Re-Education of Undine (Signature Theatre Company)

Francis Jue, Wild Goose Dreams (The Public Theater)

Heather Alicia Simms, Fabulation, or the Re-Education of Undine (Signature Theatre Company) and By The Way, Meet Vera Stark (Signature Theatre Company)


Dede M. Ayite, Sustained Excellence in Costume Design

Isabella Byrd, Lighting Design, Light Shining in Buckinghamshire (New York Theatre Workshop)

Palmer Hefferan, Sustained Excellence in Sound Design

Cookie Jordan, Sustained Excellence in Hair, Wigs, and Makeup

Clint Ramos, Set Design, Wild Goose Dreams (The Public Theater)

Louisa Thompson, Sustained Excellence in Scenic Design

Special Citations

Clare Barron (Playwright) and Lee Sunday Evans (Director), Dance Nation (Playwrights Horizons)

Jordan E. Cooper for Playwrighting & Performance, Ain’t No Mo’ (The Public Theater)

Jackie Sibblies Drury (Playwright) and Lileana Blain Cruz (Director), Marys Seacole (LCT3)

The Cast and Creative Team, The Jungle (St. Ann’s Warehouse); Joe Murphy and Joe Robertson (Playwrights), Stephen Daldry and Justin Martin (Directors), Miriam Buether (Set Design), Catherine Kodicek (Costume Design), Jon Clark (Lighting Design), Paul Arditti (Sound Design), John Pfumojena (Composition), Tristan Shepherd and Duncan McLean (Video Design); Mohammad Amiri, Alexander Devrient, Elham Ehsas, Trevor Fox, Milan Ghobsheh, Ammar Haj Ahmad, Alex Lawther, Jo McInnes, Yasin Moradi, Jonathan Nyati, John Pfumojena, Rachel Redford, Dominic Rowan, Rachid Sabitri, Mohamed Sarrar, Ben Turner, Nahel Tzegai, Vera Gurpinar, Annika Mehta (Ensemble)

The Director and Creative Team, Oklahoma! (St. Ann’s Warehouse); Daniel Fish (Director), John Heginbotham (Choreographer), Daniel Kluger (Music Arrangements/Orchestrations), Laura Jellinek (Set Design), Terese Wadden

(Costume Design), Scott Zielinski (Lighting Design), Drew Levy (Sound Design), Joshua Thorson (Production Design)

Obie Grants 

The Movement Theatre Company

Target Margin Theater

WP Theater

The Ross Wetzsteon Award 


Lifetime Achievement Awards

James C. Nicola

Jeffrey Horowitz

The judges’ panel for the 64th Annual Obie Awards, chaired as in previous years by longtime Village Voice critic Michael Feingold, included Obie-winning director Arin Arbus, Obie-winning scenic designer Rachel Hauck, Obie-winning scenic designer Riccardo Hernandez, two-time Obie-winning playwright Rajiv Joseph, Obie-winning actress Kecia Lewis, and New York Stage Review theater critic Jesse Oxfeld.

Audible, the Presenting Sponsor of the 2019 Obie Awards announced the Minetta Lane Theatre as its creative home for live performances in New York last year, and Billy Crudup’s performance of Harry Clarke, the company’s inaugural live show at the Minetta Lane, won an Obie Award in 2018.

Nickelodeon is a sustaining sponsor of the 2019 Obie Awards