You can watch the livestream of the 2017 Jonathan Larson® Grants presentation to recipients Ben BonnemaMaggie-Kate Coleman & Erato A. Kremmyda, Ty Defoe & Tidtaya Sinutoke, and Michael R. Jackson here. Four prestigious grants of $10,000 each, totaling $40,000, will be presented today. The event will feature special performances of the recipients’ work which can be seen below starting at 6pm.


The Jonathan Larson Grants, given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers, help to continue Tony Award®-winning composer Jonathan Larson’s dream of infusing musical theatre with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality. Dedicated to celebrating excellence and supporting theatre, the American Theatre Wing awards the Larson Grants to artists to recognize and showcase their work with no strings attached – except to put it to the best use possible to help further the artists’ creative endeavors.

This year’s recipients were selected by an expert panel consisting of director Jason Eagan (Artistic Director of Ars Nova), producer Jill Furman (Hamilton), musical director/arranger/orchestrator Jason Michael Webb (The Color Purple), and lyricist David Zippel (City of Angels).