#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Press Contact: Vivacity Media Group, 212-812-1483
Leslie Papa, Leslie@VivacityNY.com
Whitney Holden Gore, Whitney@VivacityNY.com
Caitlin Brightman, Caitlin@VivacityNY.com
Caroline Meredith, Caroline@VivacityNY.com



# AMERICAN THEATRE WING ANNOUNCES RECIPIENTS OF THE 2023 JONATHAN LARSON® GRANTS

DANIEL HENRI EMOND, JULIAN HORNIK, THE KILBANES, LARRY OWENS, VERONICA MANSOUR, AND THE SONGWRITING TEAM OF JACINTA CLUSELLAS, TATIANA PANDIANI AND MELIS AKER



## A SPECIAL CONCERT SHOWCASING THE GRANT WINNERS OF THE PAST FOUR YEARS WILL BE HELD ON MARCH 25 AT FLORENCE GOULD HALL

(New York, NY – February 6, 2024) The American Theatre Wing (ATW) is thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2023 Jonathan Larson<sup>®</sup> Grant, the esteemed annual prize awarded to exceptional emerging musical theatre composers, lyricists, and librettists, or writing teams.

This year's winners are: singer and composer **Daniel Henri Emond** (Kill The Whale: A Musical Odyssey); composer, lyricist and librettist **Julian Hornik** (Tenn); composing and performing team **The Kilbanes** (Weightless); performer, writer and director **Larry Owens** (Larry Owens' Sondheimia); composer and lyricist **Veronica Mansour** (Lighthouse); and the songwriting team of **Jacinta Clusellas, Tatiana Pandiani** and **Melis Aker** (Azul). Each will receive an unrestricted grant of \$12,500 and a \$2,085 Saw Island

Foundation Recording Grant. In addition, the Wing has partnered with The American Music Theatre Project at Northwestern University to provide opportunities such as residencies featuring the recipients' work.

A special concert, showcasing the past four years of **Jonathan Larson**<sup>®</sup> **Grant** winning artists, will be held on March 25 at **Florence Gould Hall** (55 E 59<sup>th</sup> Street). Joining this year's recipients in the concert program are: 2022 grant winners Christie Baugher (*The Fitzgeralds of St. Paul*), Paris Ray Dozier (*Last Stop on Market Street*), and Jaime Lozano (*The Yellow Brick Road*); 2021 recipients Grace McLean (*Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812, In The Green*), Kit Yan (*Interstate, Miss Step*), Shayok Misha Chowdhury & Laura Grill Jaye (*Blood Oleander*), The Lazours (We *Live in Cairo*), and Zeniba Now (*The Loophole*); and 2020 recipients Anna K. Jacobs (*Teeth*), Benjamin Velez (*Kiss My Aztec, Borderline*), The Bengsons (*Hundred Days*), and Rona Siddiqui (*Salaam Medina: Tales of a Halfghan*). Tickets for the concert are available now, on a pay-what-you-can system. For more info, visit <a href="bit.ly/JonathanLarson2024">bit.ly/JonathanLarson2024</a>.

"This year's recipients are a dynamic group of artists – reflecting a breadth of life experience, creativity, and ingenuity," says Heather Hitchens. "Our panel of artists & industry professionals went through hundreds of worthy applicants, and these recipients exhibited astounding talent and skill. We're also thrilled to present a special concert this March, showcasing the new class of recipients – in addition to those from 2022, 2021, and 2020, who won their grants during a time of uncertainty for this industry, in the wake of a global pandemic. These incredible artists are the next generation of theater and culture-makers, and we cannot wait to see their work on stage! It will be a night to remember."

The 2023 Jonathan Larson Grant recipients were selected by an expert panel consisting of: Talent Agent and Partner at Artists and Representatives, **Ben Sands**; Writer, Composer, and Performer **Eisa Davis**; Talent and Literary Agent at Creative Artists Agency **Kevin Lin**; Tony Award-nominated director **Leigh Silverman**; and Tony Award-nominated Broadway actress **Shoshana Bean**. In addition to this year's winners, the judges distributed Honorable Mentions to five finalists who will receive \$1,000 each.

The American Theatre Wing's **Jonathan Larson® Grants** are awarded annually to exceptional, emerging musical theatre composers, lyricists, and librettists, or writing teams. Recipients are given a platform to amplify stories, and free rein in the application of the grant – which serves as pivotal support to take their professional development to the next level and, in many cases, their work from creative concept to stage. The grants – named for seminal composer Jonathan Larson, who posthumously won a Pulitzer Prize and four Tony Awards – regularly serve as an indicator of who will be the next great theater-makers and culture-shapers. Past recipients include such luminaries as: Pasek & Paul (Dear Evan Hansen, La La Land), Michael R. Jackson (A Strange Loop), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Shaina Taub (Suffs), Chad Beguelin and Matt Sklar (The Prom, Elf), Amanda Green (Bring it On, Mr. Saturday Night), Nell Benjamin (Mean Girls, Legally Blonde), Matt Gould (Lempicka, Invisible Thread), Laurence O'Keefe (Heathers, Legally Blonde), Dave Malloy (...The Great Comet), Nathan Tysen (Paradise Square), Steven Lutvak (A Gentleman's Guide ...), Glenn Slater (Sister Act, School of Rock), Joe Iconis (Be More Chill), Kait Kerrigan (The Great Gatsby), Bree Lowdermilk (The Mad Ones), and more.

2023 Jonathan Larson Grant Winners – BIOGRAPHIES and HEADSHOTS

### **Artists Websites:**

- Daniel Henri Emond
- Julian Hornik
- The Kilbanes (Kate Kilbane and Dan Moses)
- Larry Owens
- Jacinta Clusellas, <u>Tatiana Pandiani</u> and <u>Melis Aker</u>
- Veronica Mansour

### **ABOUT THE AMERICAN THEATRE WING:**

The American Theatre Wing (Heather Hitchens, President and CEO) invests in brave work, supports creative growth, and celebrates excellence in bringing inclusive stories to our national culture through theatre. Founded by seven suffragists in 1917, on the eve of America's entry into World War I, the American Theatre Wing has spent a century honoring theatrical achievements and fostering artistry, by providing a platform for strong and fearless voices in the American theatre.

In addition to being the founder and co-presenter of the Tony Awards®, and the home of the OBIE Awards, the American Theatre Wing offers a powerful suite of programs that address all aspects of the national theatre ecology. Venerable programs like the Andrew Lloyd Webber Initiative nurture the work of young artists by providing access to theatre through education; esteemed annual prizes like the Jonathan Larson Grants create essential pathways to success for emerging professionals; and unique resources like Master Class, The Network for Emerging Leaders, and the Emmy-nominated Working in the Theatre series, offer artists with unparalleled opportunities to connect and learn from industry luminaries. To learn more about the extensive programming and grant opportunities for students, theatre professionals, and audiences, visit AmericanTheatreWing.org. For the latest updates and news, follow the Wing on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and Twitter.

<u>americantheatrewing.org/jonathan-larson-grants</u>

<a href="mailto:@thewing">@thewing</a>

###