

Broadway • Off Broadway • Off Off Broadway

2016 HENRY HEWES DESIGN AWARDS HONOREES ANNOUNCED

51st and 52nd Annual Awards Scheduled for November 7

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE OCTOBER 18, 2016 CONTACT: Jeffrey Eric Jenkins (718-789-9025; editor@bestplays.org)

Four theater artists will be honored by the Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee during the presentation of its **2016** Awards in a luncheon ceremony to be held November 7, 2016. In honor of the late **Jane Hewes**, who worked on the Hewes Awards for 50 years, the 2015 ceremony was postponed and will be combined with the 2016 ceremony this fall. The 2015 honorees were announced earlier this year.

The 2016 Henry Hewes Design Awards Honorees are:

Mimi Lien (John, Signature Theatre Company) - Scenic Design
Ann Roth (Shuffle Along, Broadway) - Costume Design
Mark Barton (John, Signature Theatre Company) - Lighting Design
Peter Nigrini (Dear Evan Hansen, Second Stage) - Notable Effects (Projection Design)

Three of the four have received Henry Hewes Design Awards in the past. Mark Barton will receive his first Henry Hewes Design Award. For the 2016 honors, 84 theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 63 productions presented during the 2015-

2016 New York theater season. (A complete list of 2016 nominees follows this awards announcement.)

These annual awards honor designers for work in venues on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off Off Broadway, recognizing not only the traditional categories of Scenic Design, Costume Design and Lighting Design, but also "Notable Effects," which encompass sound, music, video, puppetry and other creative elements. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions. The Hewes Awards Committee considered more than 200 productions when making its nominations.

Andrew Ondrejcak and David Zinn led all artists with three nominations each for their design work. Ten other designers received two nominations each for their work during the 2015-2016 season. The Off Broadway production of "Signature Plays," a compilation of work at Signature Theatre Company, garnered four nominations, the largest number among all productions. Seven productions received three nominations each and twelve productions received two nominations each.

The 2015 Henry Hewes Design Award Honorees, who will also receive their awards on November 7, are:

Riccardo Hernandez (*The Invisible Hand*, NY Theatre Workshop) - Scenic Design **Paul Tazewell** (*Hamilton*, The Public Theater) - Costume Design **Howell Binkley** (*Hamilton*, The Public Theater) - Lighting Design **Nevin Steinberg** (*Hamilton*, The Public Theater) - Notable Effects (Sound Design)

The HHDA Committee named honorees in four categories: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design and Notable Effects. As of the 2016 awards, the Committee has bestowed 298 honors on 192 artists representing 208 productions.

Originally known as the Maharam Awards at their inception in 1965, the Hewes Awards were later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards in honor of the Wing's generous sponsorship. They were renamed in 1999 for noted critic Henry Hewes, who created the awards and served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing until his death in 2006 at age 89.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; David Barbour; David Cote; Glenda Frank; Helen Shaw; and Michael Sommers.

2016 HENRY HEWES DESIGN AWARDS NOMINEES

(2016 Honorees in **bold**)

SCENIC DESIGN NOMINEES

	SCENIC DESIGN NOMINEES
Adam Rigg	O, Earth
Adam Rigg	Revolt. She Said. Revolt Again.
Andreea Mincic	LongYarn
Andrew Ondrejcak	You Us We All
Arnulfo Maldonado	Judy
Caroline Mraz	I'll Never Love Again
Christopher and Justin Swader	The Offending Gesture
Christopher Oram	Hughie
David Korins	Misery
David Rockwell	She Loves Me
David Zinn	10 Out of 12
David Zinn	The Humans
Derek McLane	Mercury Fur
Donyale Werle	Allegiance
Donyale Werle	The Robber Bridegroom
G.W. Mercier	Head of Passes
Jan Versweyveld	The Crucible
Jason Sherwood	Sojourners
Jennifer Sims	Discotropic
Michael Schmelling	Really
Mimi Lien	John
Mimi Lien	"Signature Plays"
Nick Vaughan	The Royale
Riccardo Hernandez	Red Speedo
Santo Loquasto	Shuffle Along
Steven Kemp	The New Morality
Timothy R. Mackabee	Guards at the Taj
Todd Rosenthal	Nice Fish

COSTUME DESIGN NOMINEES

Anaïs Koivisto	The Roaring Girl
Andreea Mincic	LongYarn
Andrew Ondrejcak	You Us We All
Andrew Ondrejcak with Alba Clemente	Elijah Green
Angela Huff	Sense and Sensibility
Anita Yavich	Nathan the Wise
Anita Yavich	The Legend of Georgia McBride
Ann Roth	Shuffle Along
Beth Goldenberg	The Changeling
Bobby Frederick Tilley II	Guards at the Taj
Clint Ramos	Eclipsed
Constance Hoffman	Pericles
David C. Woolard	Dames at Sea
Emily Blumenauer	The Offending Gesture
Emily Rebholz	The Robber Bridgroom
Jacob A. Climer and David Zinn	Fondly, Collette Richland
Jeff Mahshie	She Loves Me
Jennifer Caprio	Perfect Arrangement
Kaye Voyce	"Signature Plays"
Martha Bromelmeier	Cagney
Martha Hally	Women Without Men
Susan Hilferty	Familiar
Toni-Leslie James	Amazing Grace

LIGHTING DESIGN NOMINEES

Barbara Samuels		
Ben Stanton		
Ben Stanton		
Bradley King		
Christopher Akerlind		
Christopher Kuhl		
David Weiner		
Donald Holder		

O, Earth Marjorie Prime Spring Awakening Empanada Loca Angel Reapers Empathy School and *Love Story Guards at the Taj She Loves Me*

Jake DeGroot	Sea Wife
Japhy Weideman	Nice Fish
Jason Lyons	Dry Powder
Jeff Croiter	Mercury Fur
Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer	Shuffle Along
Justin Townsend	10 Out of 12
Justin Townsend	The Humans
Kenneth Posner	On Your Feet!
Mark Barton	John
Mark Barton	"Signature Plays"
Mary Eleanor Stebbins	LongYarn
Michael Schmelling	Really
Neil Austin	Hughie
Yi Zhao	Revolt. She Said. Revolt Again.

NOTABLE EFFECTS NOMINEES

Alex Basco Koch (Projection Design)

Andrew Lazarow (Projection Design) and Ken Fallin (Live Drawings) Brad Peterson (Projection Design) Brandon Wolcott (Sound Design) Bray Poor (Sound Design) Darrel Maloney (Projection Design) Fitz Patton (Sound Design) Janet Wong (Projection Design) Nevin Steinberg (Sound Design) Nicholas Hussong (Projection Design) Palmer Hefferan (Sound Design) **Peter Nigrini (Projection Design)** Ralph Lemon (Production Design) Riccardo Hernandez (Pool Design) Samuel Crawford and Arthur Solari (Sound Design)

The Wildness: Sky-Pony's Rock Fairy Tale Once Upon a Mattress The Eternal Space "Signature Plays" John Tappin' Through Life The Humans Empathy School and Love Story Bright Star These Paper Bullets! Revolt. She Said. Revolt Again. Dear Evan Hansen Scaffold Room Red Speedo Angel Reapers

Tal Yarden (Video Design)

Theodora Skipitares (Mask and Puppet Design)

Tom Lee and Koryu Nishikawa V (Puppet Design) Zachary G. Borovay (Projection Design) Lazarus Six Characters (A Family Album)

Shank's Mare

Smart People

#####